Background image for
Profile photo of
Student Traveler

Kelly T.

German Language & Culture Berlin, Germany
Hometown: Half Moon Bay, California

My name is Kelly Tobin. I am 18 years old and am the youngest of four children. I have had the amazing opportunity to visit 32 different countries in my life. Although I currently live in California, I spent four years living in Europe (in the Netherlands and Switzerland) and it was there that I first became interested in languages. I learned both Dutch and German while living abroad. I continued my passion of German when I moved back to the USA and took it as my language while in school. I was lucky enough to receive an award for my achievements in German. Due to sports at my international schools, I have traveled all over Germany for different competitions, but I have never been to Berlin. I am excited to immerse myself in the culture of Germany and use the language every single day. I want to get involved with my host family and with the community around me. I plan to try and find a volunteer opportunity while in Berlin to interact with those around me and work on my German skills. I will be majoring in International Relations and World Languages with a focus on Russian and German when I attend to Seton Hall University beginning in the fall of 2019.


The First Month in Germany

By Kelly T.

My second weekend in Germany, I had the opportunity to go to Leipzig with the Open Campus students. We took a train on Friday an hour and a half south... keep reading

Orientation In Berlin

By Kelly T.

Today was a little bit of a hectic day. I had a Berlin city tour starting at 9:30 and it ended up raining for all of it. It was not... keep reading

A Little Introduction

By Kelly T.

My name is Kelly Tobin. Although I am only 18 years old, I am already a self-proclaimed globetrotter and aspiring linguist--I have lived throughout the United States, in the Netherlands... keep reading

Related Authors