Alerts

Here you will find a list of active alerts to help communicate any health and safety updates regarding our students on programs.

  • Sat, 10/13/2018

    CIEE Security Alert - Portugal

    On Saturday, 13 October, the U.S. Embassy in Lisbon, Portugal released a Weather Alert regarding Hurricane Leslie for mainland Portugal.  “Hurricane Leslie is expected to impact portions of mainland Portugal, and the Madeira and Porto Santo islands between 14:00 p.m. on Saturday,...

    Read More
  • Thu, 09/20/2018

    CIEE Security Alert - Tanzania

    According to emerging media reports on Thursday, 20 September, the MV Nyerere ferry has capsized while transporting passengers between Bugorara and Ukala islands in Lake Victoria, Tanzania. Officials are currently responding to the incident, but fear that scores of passengers may have died....

    Read More
  • Sat, 09/15/2018

    CIEE Security Alert – Hong Kong

    On Sunday, 16 September (Saturday 15 September 2345 UTC), the Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) has issued a Number 9 Storm Signal which indicates that winds are expected to increase significantly as Typhoon Mangkhut moves closer to Hong Kong.  The Typhoon will soon pass about 100 km (62 miles)...

    Read More
  • Tue, 09/04/2018

    CIEE Security Alert - Japan

    Meteorological agencies report that Typhoon Jebi made landfall on Tuesday in eastern Shikoku at around 1200 hrs (0300 UTC) on Tuesday, 4 September. Jebi is classified as a Category 1 Typhoon and saw winds reach speeds of up to 216 km/h (135mph). We have contacted all CIEE Japan participants to...

    Read More
  • Thu, 08/30/2018

    CIEE Security Alert - Toronto

    According to emerging social media feeds on Thursday, 30 August, an active shooter has been reported at the Yorkdale shopping center, between the Highway 401 Express and Allen Road in Toronto, Ontario province. Emergency responders have been dispatched to the scene and the mall is currently...

    Read More
  • Tue, 08/14/2018

    CIEE Security Alert - London

    According to an alert released by the Metropolitan Police on Tuesday, 14 August, a car has crashed into barriers outside Parliament in Westminster. Police quickly arrested the driver of the car and imposed a cordon in the area. A number of injuries have been reported, but the Metropolitan Police...

    Read More
  • Fri, 08/03/2018

    CIEE Security Alert – Shanghai

    Local media reports on Friday, 3 August, indicate that more than 134,000 people in Shanghai have been evacuated to secure shelters, as Typhoon Jongdari struck the city at around 1030 hrs local time (0230 UTC). The storm made landfall in the coastal Jinshan district. There have been major travel...

    Read More
  • Fri, 07/27/2018

    CIEE Security Alert – Japan

    Typhoon Jongdari has made landfall on the Ogasawara islands on Friday, 27 July and is forecast to hit Japan’s largest main island of Honshu late on Saturday, 28 July or early on Sunday, 29 July. The Typhoon is currently projected to make landfall on Honshu significantly southwest of Tokyo...

    Read More
  • Thu, 07/26/2018

    CIEE Security Alert – Beijing

    No CIEE Beijing participants were impacted and all are accounted for following a small explosion on the street outside the US Embassy compound in Beijing. The explosion occurred at approximately 1pm (Beijing time) on July 26, 2018. According to reports, there was one individual who detonated a...

    Read More
  • Mon, 07/23/2018

    CIEE SECURITY ALERT – TORONTO

    A shooting last night in Toronto did not directly impact CIEE and all Toronto CIEE participants have been accounted for.

    Yesterday, 22 July, an unidentified gunman opened fire on passers-by in the Greektown neighborhood of Toronto. At least one person was killed alongside the shooter who...

    Read More
  • Mon, 06/18/2018

    CIEE SECURITY ALERT - JAPAN

    According to a statement from the Japan Meteorological Agency, an earthquake of magnitude 5.9 has struck the region of Kansai. The earthquake occurred at 0800 hours local time (2300 UTC), roughly 2km (1.2mi) from the town of Takatsuki, in the Osaka Prefecture (roughly 250 miles south of Tokyo)....

    Read More